Maybe you’ve been caught speeding once or twice, used your cell phone while driving, have a bad habit of texting and driving, or you ran a red light. Any of these mistakes can have a detrimental impact on your driving record.
The Driver Violation Point System was created to identify, deter, and penalize repeat traffic offenders, and helps streamline the legal process. It allows the DMV to take proper action against high-risk drivers and to keep roads safe.
In New York State, if you exceed 11 points in an 18-month period, you risk having your driver’s license suspended. Points are carefully calculated by your specific traffic violation convictions and calculated based on the date of the violation, not the date of the conviction.
All points within a rolling 18-month period calculate your point total. There is a Driver Responsibility Assessment fee if you receive 6 or more points on your license in 18 months.
If you are convicted of a traffic violation in another state, points are not added to your New York State driving record.
Canada is a different story – violations in Ontario or Quebec may apply points to your license. New York State has a reciprocal agreement with Ontario and Quebec that records convictions in these provinces to your NYS driving record.
Each insurance company has their own point systems that dictate your insurance premiums based on your driving record. These systems are not related to the New York State Driver Violation Point System.
New York State has approved programs to help prevent you from losing your license due to excessive points on your driver’s license. If you have 11 or more points on your driving record, you can “subtract” 4 points for the purposes of calculating a suspension. It’s important to note that tickets/points do not physically come off your driving record.
These programs offer 10% off your automobile liability and collision insurance premiums.
If you’re not sure if you have points on your license or unsure how many points you have obtained, you can use MyDMV ‘My License, Permit or ID’ service at https://my.dmv.ny.gov/.
If you have been injured in a car accident, the last thing you want to worry about is if this accident will add points to your license. Seeking the advice of an experienced attorney may be the best thing you can do.
At William Mattar, P.C., we focus on one area of the law— personal injuries from motor vehicle accidents. With more than 25 years of experience representing thousands of injured victims like you, we know auto accident law.
If you or someone you know has been injured in a car accident involving, we’re here to help! Call our office any time at (844) 444-4444, or visit our website to fill out a contact form or chat with us directly.