A moped is classified as a “limited use motorcycle.” In New York, limited-use motorcycles can include mopeds, motor scooters, and other models of motorcycles with two or three wheels. For this reason, moped riders often must fulfill similar requirements to motorcyclists, including when it comes to driver licenses.
If mopeds are a type of motorcycle, do you need a motorcycle license to ride one? You will need a motorcycle license to operate on the roadways for a particular type (or “class”) of moped. Continue reading to learn more about the various requirements for riding a limited-use motorcycle in New York State.
To ride a moped on streets and highways in New York, you must have a valid driver’s license and register your moped with the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). There are different classifications for certified models of mopeds based on the range of the vehicle’s top speed. These include Class A, Class B, and Class C limited use motorcycles.
According to the New York DMV, a Class C moped can reach no more than 20 mph; a Class B moped can reach over 20-30 mph; and, a Class A moped can reach over 30-40 mph. Only Class A mopeds require a specific license to be operated. These licenses include: A Class M, Class MJ driver license, or learner permit. Those who wish to ride a Class B or Class C moped can carry any standard valid driver’s license.
In New York, some laws dictate where you are allowed to operate a moped as determined by the vehicle’s class. Riders of Class B or Class C limited use motorcycles can drive in right-hand lanes or on a usable shoulder only. Riders of Class A limited use motorcycles can utilize any traffic lane. Mopeds are not permitted on sidewalks.
New York law also specifies that insurance is required to operate both Class A and Class B limited use motorcycles. It is only a recommendation for Class C models. Similarly, per the DMV, helmets and eye protection are required for Class A and Class B riders but recommended for Class C riders.
As mentioned, a motorcycle license is either a Class M or Class MJ driver license, and is required to ride a Class A moped on New York roads. According to the DMV, to receive a motorcycle license, you must first get a motorcycle learner permit. You receive this by completing a written test and fulfilling other requirements outlined by the DMV.
After getting a motorcycle learner permit, riders are encouraged to prepare for a motorcycle road test by completing 30 hours of riding practice. When practicing with a learner permit, you must, among other requirements, be supervised by a driver at least 21 years old who has a valid motorcycle license.
Finally, you need to schedule and successfully pass a motorcycle road test to get your motorcycle license. You may or may not have another New York State license class to receive your motorcycle license and get on the road with your moped.
Have you been injured in a moped accident? We know how devastating the impact an accident injury can have on an injury victim’s life. Our motorcycle accident attorneys can help you file a claim for compensation and get your life back on track. Schedule a free initial consultation today –complete our free online form or call us at (844) 444-4444.